Changing the iCat camera

The iCat embodiment has many features that will enable a detailed user interaction application

Moderators: iCat support, Support

Changing the iCat camera

Postby iolanda » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:37 pm

Dear all,

We are thinking on replacing the camera inside the iCat so we can have a better quality camera in the robot.

Has anyone done that already? Do you think it's feasible?

Best,
Iolanda
iolanda
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:35 pm
Location: Portugal

Postby Taapie » Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:49 am

Hi Iolanda,

It would not be a big problem to replace the camera in the iCat with another camera, as long as it fits. But there is an important thing to take into account. The iCats are all calibrated and have specific settings in the firmware that are different per iCat, as each iCat is unique concerning the way the servos are placed. To replace the camera you would have to disconnect the eyebrows and lips from the servos. It is VERY important that when you connect them back to the iCat, they are placed back exactly as they were before. Especially for the lips. If you do not do that, the servos will start to put force on each other, thereby severally shortening their life span. And of course the animations will no longer look the same as before. When this happens we will need to recalibrate the iCat for you, which basically means you will not have the iCat for a week or two depending on the postal service.

The current camera in the iCat has been adopted to make it easy to disconnect it from the base of the iCat. You will most probably not be able to connect using the same cable, so you will have to find a proper way to do that, without limiting the movement of the iCat neck.

Hope this helps in your decision.

Greetings,

Dennis
Taapie
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron